AOAC 2013 Scholarship Winners Announced

CONGRATULATIONS to MICHAEL HONEYMAN The winner of the 2013 AOAC Dame Joan Sutherland Scholarship is baritone Michael Honeyman. Michael will receive the $20,000 award to further his budding career as a Verdi baritone. We wish him every success with his career and look forward to updates which will be posted on this site. CONGRATULATIONS to EVA JINHEE KONG The winner … Read More

Mary-Jean O’Doherty wins Paris Opera Awards

AOAC congratulates Mary-Jean O’Doherty, 2008 Sheila Prior Award winner, who has won 1st Prize in the Paris Opera Awards! [singlepic id=86 w=320 h=240 float=] Mary-Jean (in red) pictured after being announced as winner of the POA. The Grand Jury were Sherrill Milnes, Martina Arroyo & Daniel Lipton Click on the links below to see and hear Mary-Jean sing her winning … Read More

Killara Concerts cancelled for 2013

DUE TO UNFORESEEN CIRCUMSTANCES THE KILLARA MUSIC ROOM SERIES IS CANCELLED FOR 2013 The AOAC wishes to apologies for any inconvenience caused to any person. Any enquiries regarding tickets already purchased should be directed to the Treasurer, Warren Martin, 0418 169 727

2013 Awards Applications now closed

AWARDS APPLICATIONS FOR 2013 ARE NOW CLOSED A panel is currently assessing the applications received for The Dame Joan Sutherland Scholarship – $20,000 and The E. Chang and E. & K. Ong Opera Scholarship – $10,000 Winners will be notified in June 2013. Please direct any enquiries regarding AOAC’s Awards to Executive Director, Christine Douglas –


APPLICATIONS ARE NOW OPEN FOR The Dame Joan Sutherland Scholarship – $20,000 and The E. Chang and E. & K. Ong Opera Scholarship – $10,000 CLOSING DATE – 5pm Thursday 28th March 2013 APPLICATION FEE – $40 Go to our AWARDS & SCHOLARSHIPS  page to download your application forms now!

2012 Highlights of Opera a roaring success!

$10,000 donated for a new 2013 Scholarship thanks to Highlights! – watch this space….   “We had no idea what we were in for – what a great night!” – audience member   “Excellent concert congratulations to all involved and on awarding to Lorina Gore , her singing was exceptionally fine.” – Bel Canto “The concert of the year!” – … Read More

AOAC Friends Program

The AOAC has launched our AOAC FRIENDS PROGRAM Our new FRIENDS are listed below and we look forward to welcoming you at our events. Margaret Baxter Anne Chivas Pat Conder Diana Craddock Ann Duffett Michael Duffett Olive Dunk Joan Flood Ingrid Garafal Andrew & Janet Garvie Cvetka Giustina Lynne Greenwood Dorie Levy Claire McDonald Janet McDonald Lola Palmer Brian Penhall Linda … Read More

Annual Luncheon at NSW Parliament House

The Chair & Members of the Australian Opera Auditions Committee Inc. Request the Pleasure of Your Company for our at NSW Parliament House Macquarie St ,Sydney 12 noon for 12.15 Tuesday 1st May 2012, event ends 2.45pm Musical Interludes: Dora Armannsdottir, soprano from Opera Australia Glenn Amer, pianist extraordinaire Two course Luncheon, red & white wine, coffee & tea with … Read More