Dr Anthony Ernst Seminar – 23 August 2014

The Australian Opera Awards Committee Inc is pleased to inform you about the Wagner Society’s Seminar, Beyond the Twilight of the Gods: Wagner’s Musical Legacy

Dr Antony Ernst, Manager of Artistic Planning, Orchestre Philharmoniquede Strasbourg, returns to Sydney to present a Wagner Society one-day workshop on 23 August 2014 from 9:30 am to 5:00 pm at the Uniting Church Cultural Centre, 10 Clanwilliam St., Willoughby (Street parking, frequent buses (M40) along Penshurst St)

Society Members $55:00, non-members $65. Lunch provided.

DON’T MISS OUT. REGISTER NOW: www.wagner.org.au

EFT: The Wagner Society, Westpac, Paddington: BSB: 032040 A/C 911323
Please include name and “Ernst” in your transfer details

Pay by Cheque: Payable to The Wagner Society, GPO Box 4574, 2001.


2014 AOAC Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2014 AOAC Scholarship Winners!

Regina Daniel – winner of the 2014 AOAC Dame Joan Sutherland Award.  Regina will receive $20,000 towards furthering her operatic career.

Regina Daniel

Shane Lowrencev  – winner of the 2014 E Chang and E & K Ong Opera Scholarship.  Shane will receive $10,000 to assist him with his career plans.
Shane Lowrencev
Ayse Goknur Shanal – winner of the Sheila Prior Memorial Award to attend the 2014 Lisa Gasteen National Opera School.
Ayse Goknur Shanal
We wish our talented artists all the best in their future endeavours.



The AOAC Dame Joan Sutherland Scholarship – $20,000

The AOAC E. Chang and E. & K. Ong Opera Scholarship – $10,000

The AOAC Sheila Prior Memorial Scholarship to attend the
Lisa Gasteen National Opera School (worth $5,000)

CLOSING DATE – 5pm Friday 28th March 2014


Go to our AWARDS & SCHOLARSHIPS page to download your application forms now!

AOAC 2013 Scholarship Winners Announced

The winner of the 2013 AOAC Dame Joan Sutherland Scholarship is baritone Michael Honeyman. Michael will receive the $20,000 award to further his budding career as a Verdi baritone. We wish him every success with his career and look forward to updates which will be posted on this site.
Michael Honeyman headshot
The winner of the inaugural E. Chang and E. & K. Ong Opera Scholarship is soprano
Eva Jinhee Kong.  Eva will receive the $10,000 award to assist her with her career development. The AOAC wishes her all the very best with her blossoming operatic career.


Mary-Jean O’Doherty wins Paris Opera Awards

AOAC congratulates Mary-Jean O’Doherty, 2008 Sheila Prior Award winner,
who has won 1st Prize in the Paris Opera Awards!

Mary-Jean (in red) pictured after being announced as winner of the POA.
The Grand Jury were Sherrill Milnes, Martina Arroyo & Daniel Lipton

Click on the links below to see and hear Mary-Jean sing her winning arias.

“Où va la jeune Hindoue” http://youtu.be/4lHq7M_w3q0
“So War es mit Pagliazzo” http://youtu.be/04WDUT69AAw http://youtu.be/9mHnHOpcmVc
Queen of the Night http://youtu.be/Y96AbDSk9Hc